Approaching the Second.

 

jd fb

 

The pic is basically self explanatory. However, I’d like to add a little caption. Two years ago today we became Facebook friends, after online chatting for a few days. We basically knew right away that our friendship was going to blossom into something much more.

Now, Jake and I are approaching our second year anniversary and I could not be happier. I love him so much. And I have for a really long time.

Heres a little secret that he does not even know about me: I never believed in “love at first sight” but I always had the feeling that the first person I ever loved would happen in that magical way. As a cruel joke, I always wanted to confess my love for someone, just to see how they would react.

Well about two years ago, Jake did that to me. No, literally.

We began chatting online, through an app. Eventually we decided to hang out and it went really well. That lead to him asking to cook me dinner, and me agreeing.

(He made these awesome burgers… awesome until I noticed a little pink in mine. Lol).

Soon after, we started to hang out and text all day. And then… it happened. Jake sent me the cutest, sweetest, message someone could ever send. He explained how he loved me more than life, and how I was the most beautiful person he’d ever met, and how I was so perfect. He claimed it was “love at first sight.”

Of course I thought it was sweet, but I was very surprised seeing how it had been less than one month since we met. But… for some reason, I could tell how sincere he was and I never looked back.

A few days later, he asked me out… while down on one knee. (Really!) This was Jan. 31, but I declined because, and I quote, “not every month has 31 days. Ask me again tomorrow.”

And so he did. That is when we began dating. :), <3.

About three months later, we moved in together and it was like a never ending sleepover with my best friend. It was amazing!

Three months after that, we picked out rings and he later presented that ring to me as a promise ring.

There is apart of me that still cannot believe it has only been two years. I feel like I have known him for a lifetime. I have never been more committed to something or more in love with someone, in my life. (He is my first and only love.)

Then there is the part of me that thinks, “wow, its two years later.”I know couples always say ” we have been through so much together.” And I hate it because I always assume they mean mindless things like: oh this person cheated, I started a new job, etc, etc.

But we really have been though so much together; the loss of various friendships and relationships with people we once trusted, the death of two family members – including a parent, three jobs, one bad car accident and two cars, the births of little nephews, etc. And thats not even the half of it. However, I could not imagine a better person to go through these things with. He always has my back and thats what I appreciate the most.

And two years ago, who would have thought we would be in this place- talking about buying houses, our wedding, and making little babies?

Not I. But I am happy to be here, with him.

Ps… I may or may not have just gave a little hint about our big news. Gotta stay tuned! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

