Sister: A Temporary Mother.

image

So here is my favorite sister, Mimi.

This is her after getting dressed, from going swimming.

Although she looks cool, calm, and collected, she was far from that. Just moments before this picture was taken, she had a total meltdown! I mean it was just insane.

So here is a little about her, she suffers from a neurological disorder called Chiari Malformation (CM*). This is a disorder caused by a structural deffect, in which the bottom part of her skull is smaller than it should be. This causes ton of pain and pressure for her entire head. Her skull, spine, brain, etc, this also causes a disruption in the flow of her spinal fluid.

As a result of her disorder, she takes tons of meds. Everything from sleeping meds, meds for seizures, meds for this, for that… you get the picture.

Unfortunately, bc of her disorder, she had ‘good days’ and ‘bad days.’ Thank God she has been doing really well! So this past weekend, I had my siblings and my nephew over for some good’ole indoor swimming.

She was enjoying herself, along with all the other kids. Until she stated she was cold and wanted to get out. I got her and the baby out of the pool, to change and get dressed, while the other kids were swimming.

She was fine until we went into the locker room, where she completely flipped out and began her meltdown.

(When I described the meltdown to my mom, she started crying. Although she is only seven, I will respect her privacy and not go into details about the meltdown.) She started crying hysterically, and screaming bc she was cold.

I was so freaked out I had no idea what to do. Being a big sister, you always faced with tons of responsibility regarding your younger siblings. You have to be a friend, and listen to what they have to say. You are a mediator, when your siblings fight. You are an equal, when taking their suggestions of fun activities to do or movies to watch. And as I found out this past weekend, sometimes, you have to be a temporary mom.

I tried so hard to comfort her, as my mom would but man was it hard.

Eventually, she calmed down and the pic was taken.

While I love all my siblings, I definitely do not want to go through that again, so Mimi cannot come back for swimming, unless its blazing outside. Lol.

Leave a Reply

